Navigate Up
Sign In
Privacy Policy

Board and Chief Executive

The Parliamentary Standards Act 2009 ('the Act') states that IPSA is to governed by its Board, which consists of a Chair and four members. The Act ensures that:

  • one member must be a person who has held high judicial office;
  • one member must be a person who is a qualified auditor; and
  • one member must be a former MP. 

Members of IPSA's Board are appointed for fixed terms of five years, and may be reappointed for a further term of three years.

The appointment of Board members is prescribed by Schedule 1 of the Act, a copy of which can be found via this link.

On a day-to-day basis, IPSA is run by its Chief Executive and Directors, who report to the Board. You can find more information about IPSA's staff, including the salaries and expenses of IPSA's Board and senior staff on our website via this link.


​Professor Sir Ian Kennedy, IPSA Chair 

Sir Ian is a lawyer who, for several decades, had lectured and wrote on the law and the ethics of healthcare and regulation. He was appointed as chair of the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority in November 2009. He is also Emeritus Professor of Health Law, Ethics and Policy at University College of London and Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics.

Sir Ian has been involved in public life for over 30 years, earning a particular reputation for his concern for the interests of members of the public in healthcare. He is, perhaps, best known as the Chairman of the public enquiry into children's heart surgery at the Bristol Royal Infirmary (1998–2001). This report contributed to the establishment of the Healthcare Commission, which he chaired from its creation in 2004 until its abolition in 2009. During his time at the Commission, Sir Ian worked to improve standards across the NHS through access to information and knowledge for patients, the public, clinicians and managers. In 2009, he chaired the King’s Fund inquiry into the quality of general practice in England and in 2012 carried out a review of the care of children in the NHS. In 2012, he also chaired the group that reviewed the provision of paediatric cardiac surgery in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland. He has also previously chaired reviews relating to xenotransplantation, pets’ passports, research on service personnel and innovation in pharmaceuticals.

Sir Ian is a former chair of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics and of the UK Research Integrity Office and former host of the Channel 4 discussion programme After Dark. He is a Fellow of the British Academy and an honorary fellow of the Royal College of General Practitioners, the Royal College of Physicians, the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health, the Royal College of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Surgeons, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and the Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors. He was awarded an honorary DSc by the University of Glasgow in 2003 and an honorary DM by the University of Birmingham in 2005. He is a Barrister and Honorary Bencher of the Inner Temple. He was knighted in 2002 for services to medical law and bioethics. 


Elizabeth Padmore, Board Member


Elizabeth PadmoreLiz Padmore has been Chairman of Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust since 2010. a Barclay Fellow of Green Templeton College, Oxford where she chairs the Remuneration Committee; a member of the Board of NHS Providers (Foundation Trust Network) where she chairs the Finance and General Management Committee; a director of Youth Business International where she also serves on the audit committee and chairs the accreditation committee; member of the F&GP Committee, Ditchley; member of the F&GM Committee, Women for Women International. . She is a co-founder and a member of the Global Board of Enablis, a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to creating a viable SME sector in Africa and South America. She was previously on the Council of Chatham House; a Director of National Australia Group Europe and Clydesdale Bank plc and on the advisory board of IMD Business School (Lausanne). She was previously a strategy partner at Accenture where she created and ran their global strategic think tank, specialising in scenario planning, strategic communications, corporate social responsibility and relationship management. Liz was awarded the Sunday Times public sector Non-Executive Director of the Year Award in 2013. 


Anne Whitaker, Board Member


Anne WhitakerAnne Whitaker has served as a non-executive director and then Chair of Whipps Cross University NHS Trust: following the creation by merger of Barts Health NHS Trust she was appointed as a non-executive director of the new Trust and is chair of the remuneration committee. She was an audit partner for Ernst & Young, specialising in financial services, for twelve years. She was also Head of Audit for Financial Services at Ernst & Young from 2000 to 2004. Her voluntary sector interests include working with YourStory in Lambeth, an organisation which provides help in employment, criminal justice, education and sports and personal development and the MicroLoan Foundation, a microfinance organisation operating in Malawi, helping clients to build businesses. 


Marcial Boo, Chief Executive


Marcial Boo joined IPSA in June 2014. He has held senior positions across the DSC_1602.JPGpublic sector, including as a director for eight years at the National Audit Office and the Audit Commission, and as a senior civil servant at both the Home Office, where he led work on counter terrorism and reducing street crime, and at the Department for Education where he created the government’s adult basic skills strategy, Skills for Life.